Special Education: Overview

As an equal opportunity society, Hong Kong provides special education services for children with special educational needs (SEN), such as visual impairment, hearing impairment, physical disability, intellectual disability, etc. Students with severe SEN or multiple disabilities are referred to special schools for intensive support services subject to the assessment and recommendation of specialists and parents’ consent. Other students with SEN are placed in ordinary schools. At present, there are 60 aided special schools in Hong Kong.

 

For the list of special schools, visit:

http://www.edb.gov.hk/attachment/en/edu-system/special/overview/factsheet/special-edu/spsche16-17.pdf

 

Children aged six or above with SEN enjoy free and universal basic education. With effect from the 2009/10 school year, special schools for children with hearing impairment, physical disability, intellectual disability, visual impairment cum intellectual disability and schools for social development offer senior secondary classes under the New Senior Secondary (NSS) Academic Structure. All classes in aided special primary or secondary schools are free starting from the 2008/09 school year. Fee remission is in place for residential students who cannot afford the boarding fee.

 

Assessment and Support Services

The Education Bureau provides school-based/centre-based assessment and support services for children suspected of having SEN. The Bureau runs two Special Education Services Centres located in Kowloon Tong and Kwai Chung. The Special Education Resource Centre in Kowloon Tong Education Services Centre provides multi-media facilities, school-based teaching and learning packages for downloading, softwares and cliparts for the production of teaching materials and aids by teachers, updated journals, magazines and books on special education etc.

 

The Bureau offers support services which include educational audiological services for children with hearing impairment, school-based speech therapy services for students with speech and language impairments, educational psychology service for students with learning, emotional and/or behavioural difficulties, educational placement and advice and professional support to parents and teachers on how to manage children with disabilities.

 

For details about special education services, visit:

http://www.edb.gov.hk/en/edu-system/special/policy-and-initiatives/special-edu-serv/index.html

 

Education Bureau’s Role

In addition to planning and developing all special education facilities, the Bureau also advises on organisation, curricula, teaching methods and educational placement. Relevant officers of the Bureau provide professional advice in their specialist fields to public-sector ordinary schools and special schools, non-governmental organisations and other government departments. The Bureau also implements a territory-wide early identification and intervention programme for at primary one students in public sector schools every year. The aim is for teachers to identify children with learning difficulties or speech and language problems, and to render to provide timely support. Various professional training for teachers and support measures are in place to help special schools or ordinary schools to support students with SEN. For details about professional support and other supports, visit:

http://www.edb.gov.hk/en/edu-system/special/policy-and-initiatives/special-edu/index.html

 

 

Class Size and Teacher-student Ratio

The class sizes in special schools are relatively lower, ranging from 8 to 15 per class, depending on the types of children served and the staffing ratio is 1.7 teachers per primary and junior secondary class and 1.9 or 2.0 teachers per senior secondary class.  Also, there are various types of additional teachers and specialists provided in these schools to cater for children’s different SEN.

 

Curriculum

The curriculum for these children is based on the ordinary school curriculum and aligns with the implementation of inclusive education. The NSS curriculum has been implemented in special schools from the 2009/10 school year. Related curriculum development work is executed by the Curriculum Development Institute. The Committee on Special Educational Needs under the Curriculum Development Council is responsible for formulating policy and overseeing curriculum development for children with SEN.

top back

特殊教育概览

作为一个平等的社会,香港为有特殊教育需要的学童提供特殊教育。例如视障、听障、肢体伤残、智障等。有严重特殊教育需要或多重残疾的学童,会根据专业人士的评估及建议,以及家长的意愿,被转介至特殊学校以接受加强支援服务。而其他有特殊教育需要的学童,则可入读普通学校。现时,香港有六十一所资助特殊学校。

 

有关特殊学校的名单,请参阅:

http://www.edb.gov.hk/attachment/sc/edu-system/special/overview/factsheet/special-edu/special_school_list.pdf

 

六岁或以上有特殊教育需要的儿童可享有免费和普及的基础教育。自2009/10学年开始,随着新高中学制的推行,听障儿童学校、肢体伤残儿童学校、智障儿童学校、视障兼智障儿童学校及群育学校提供高中教育。自2008/09学年起,所有资助特殊学校的小学及中学班级均为免费,而有经济困难的宿生可申请减免宿费。

 

评估及支援服务

 

教育局为怀疑有特殊教育需要的学生提供校本支援服务。当局设有两间特殊教育服务中心,分别位于九龙塘及葵涌。而位于九龙塘教育服务中心的特殊教育资源中心提供多媒体设施、可下载的校本教学资源套、帮助老师制作教材和教具的软件和插图,以及有关特殊教育的最新期刊、杂志及书籍等。

 

教育局提供支援服务包括:为听障学童提供教育听觉服务、为有言语障碍的学童提供校本言语治疗服务、为有学习、情绪及/或行为困难的学生提供教育心理服务,以及为家长及老师就如何管教残疾儿童提供意见和专业支援。

 

有关特殊教育服务的详情,请参阅:

http://www.edb.gov.hk/sc/edu-system/special/policy-and-initiatives/special-edu-serv/index.html

 

教育局的角色

 

教育局除了负责各项特殊教育设施的策划和发展外,当局还在组织、课程、教学法以及学位安排上提供意见。教育局有关人员在他们的专责范筹上为公营学校和特殊学校、非政府机构及政府其他部门提供专业意见。同时,教育局在全港公营及直接资助计划学校推行及早识别及辅导有学习困难的小一学生计划,帮助老师及早识别有学习或言语困难的学生,使他们能及早为这些学生提供支援。此外,更设有为特殊学校或普通学校而设的多元化教师专业训练及支援措施,协助有特殊学习需要的学生。有关专业支援及其他支援详情,请参阅:

http://www.edb.gov.hk/sc/edu-system/special/policy-and-initiatives/special-edu/index.html

 

每班人数及教师与班级的比例

 

特殊学校的每班学生人数相对较少,每班学生人數介乎8 至15人,视乎学生的類别而定, 而教师与班级的比例为小学及初中每班1.7 名教师、及高中每班1.9或2.0名教师。由2017/18学年起,公营中、小学(包括特殊学校)的教师与班级比例划一增加0.1,为学校提供额外的教师人手,推展各项教育措施,提升教育质素。此外,这些学校还聘有各類额外教师和专责人员, 以配合学生不同的特殊教育需要。

 

课程

 

为有特殊教育需要儿童而设的课程是建基于普通学校的课程,并配合融合教育的推行。新高中课程已经于2009/10学年开始于特殊学校推行,而有关课程发展的工作由课程发展处负责推行。课程发展议会辖下的特殊教育需要委员会,专责制订政策及监察特殊教育的课程发展。

 

 

页首 返回