Post-Secondary Education: Overview

Hong Kong provides multiple and flexible pathways for local students to pursue post-secondary education.

 

Publicly-funded Programmes

 

There are eight universities funded by the University Grants Committee (UGC), which provide 15 000 first-year first-degree places and 5 000 senior year undergraduate intake places per annum by the 2018/19 academic year, including:

 

 

As one of the world’s most competitive cities, Hong Kong is home to some of Asia Pacific’s very best universities in terms of their teaching and research achievements. According to the Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) World University Rankings 2018, among the eight universities funded by the UGC, five universities, namely The University of Hong Kong, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, The Chinese University of Hong Kong , City University of Hong Kong and The Hong Kong Polytechnic University are ranked top 100 in the world.

 

As these universities admit students at their own discretion, prospective students may refer to the institution websites for admission criteria. For students with Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education (HKDSE) results, they may apply through the Joint University Programmes Admission System (JUPAS). The Government also provides financial assistance to qualified students in need through the Student Finance Office (SFO). Outstanding local and non-local students can also be awarded scholarships through the HKSAR Government Scholarship Fund.

 

Three of these UGC-funded universities, namely City University of Hong Kong (CityU), The Education University of Hong Kong (EdUHK), and The Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU), as well as the Vocational Training Council, also provide a number of publicly-funded sub-degree programmes.

 

Self-financing Local Programmes

 

To provide more opportunities to young people access to post-secondary education, the number of sub-degree level and above programmes offered by self-financing institutions has increased significantly.

 

Please refer to the Information Portal for Accredited Post-secondary Programmes (iPASS) for programmes of full-time sub-degree, bachelor’s degree and top-up degree programmes not covered by JUPAS. 

 

The Government has been making great effort to promote the development of the self-financing post-secondary sector through a basket of support measures including land grant at nominal premium, interest-free start-up loans, a HK$3.52 billion Self-financing Post-secondary Education Fund to provide scholarships and support quality enhancement efforts of institutions; inject HK$3 billion into the Research Endowment Fund for self-financing tertiary institutions to engage in research; and student finances.

 

Performing Arts Programmes

 

The publicly-funded Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts offers programmes from Diploma to Master Degree level in dance, drama, film and television, music, theatre and entertainment arts as well as Chinese traditional theatre.

 

Continuous Learning Programmes

 

Lifelong learning is gaining popularity as more and more people seek to upgrade their academic qualifications in pursuit of better career prospects or personal interest. The Government has summarised a full list of non-local courses registered or exempted under the Non-local Higher and Professional Education (Regulation) Ordinance (Cap. 493) and provides the information for course providers as well as advice for students when enrolling in these course.

 

Academic Research

 

The Government encourages academic research in the higher education sector. It provides research funding to the University Grants Committee (UGC)-funded universities annually. The UGC-funded universities receive recurring funding through block grants and earmarked research grants approved by the advisory body, Research Grant Council, on a competitive basis. For details of the various funding schemes administered by RGC, visit: www.ugc.edu.hk/eng/rgc.
 
The Research Endowment Fund (the Fund) was established in 2009 with an original endowment of HK$18 billion.  In 2012, we injected a further HK$5 billion into the Fund to provide additional research resources to the higher education sector, of which HK$3 billion is provided to support research projects of self-financing degree-awarding institutions.  Besides, the Fund supports theme-based research which benefits the long-term development of Hong Kong. Such themes identified for the UGC-funded institutions to work on include promoting good health, developing a sustainable environment, enhancing Hong Kong’s strategic position as a regional and international business centre and advancing emerging research and innovations important to Hong Kong. The Fund is administered by the RGC.

 

top back

专上教育

香港提供优质、多元、灵活及多阶进出的升学途径予学生接受专上教育。

 

公帑资助课程

 

目前有八所教资会资助大学,到了2018/19学年,每年将提供15 000个第一年学士学位课程学额和5 000个高年级学士学位课程收生额。这八所大学分别是:

 

 

作为世界上最具竞争力的城市之一,香港拥有亚太区多间最佳教学及学术研究成就的大学。 根据国际高等教育评鉴机构Quacquarelli Symonds (QS)2018年世界大学排名,八所教资会资助大学当中,其中五所(即港大、科大、中大、城大及理大)均排名于世界前一百名内。

 

各大学均拥有自主的收生权, 应届学生可于各学院之网站查阅相关的收生资格。拥有香港中学文凭学历的学生,可透过大学联合招生办法(JUPAS)提交申请。政府同时通过学生资助处为有需要的学生提供财政支持。成绩优异的本地和非本地学生亦可从香港特区政府奖学基金中获取奖学金。

 

其中三所教资会资助大学(即城大、教大和理大)和职业训练局亦有提供公帑资助的副学位课程。

 

自资本地课程

 

为年青人提供更多升学机会,本地院校的自资副学位或以上程度课程数目与日俱增。

 

关于更多大学联合招生办法范畴以外之全日制副学位, 学士学位及衔接学位课程的信息,请透过经评审专上课程数据网 (iPASS) 查阅。

 

在自资专上界别方面,政府积极透过多项支持措施,支持及提升界别的持续发展,包括免地价批出土地;提供免息贷款,协助兴建新校舍或改善教学环境及设施;成立35.2亿元的自资专上教育基金,为学生提供奖学金,并支持院校提升质素和加强质素保证的工作;注资30亿元入研究基金,让自资高等院校参与竞逐研究拨款,推动学术和研究发展;以及提供学生资助等。

 

表演艺术课程

 

由公帑资助的香港演艺学院提供舞蹈、戏剧、电影及电视、音乐、舞台及制作艺术和中国戏曲等由文凭到硕士程度的课程。

 

持续进修课程

 

越来越多人为了事业或个人兴趣而持续进修,以提升学历和专业资格。政府已列出所有根据《非本地高等及专业教育( 规管)条例》(第493章)规定下已注册或已申请豁免注册的课程,并为课程主办者提供参考数据,以及在市民报读课程时,提供适当的建议。

 

学术研究

 

政府鼓励高等教育界进行学术研究,每年均向教资会资助大学提供研究拨款。教资会资助大学的经常拨款来自整体补助金,以及经咨询机构研究资助局(研资局)以竞逐形式批出的研究用途补助金。有关各种研资局负责管理的资助计划详情,请参阅网站: www.ugc.edu.hk/eng/rgc
 
政府在二零零九年以180亿港元作为本金,设立研究基金(基金) 。二零一二年,我们向基金再注资50亿港元,为高等教育界提供更多研究资源,当中30亿港元会用作资助颁授学位的自资院校的研究项目。由基金拨款资助的主题研究计划有利于香港的长远发展。有关主题由教资会资助院校界定,当中包括促进健康、建设可持续发展的环境、加强香港作为地区及国际商业中心的策略地位、以及促进对香港起重要作用的新兴研究及创新项目。基金由研资局管理。

 

 

页首 返回