Science Education

Position

Science is the study of phenomena and events around us through systematic observation and experimentation. Science education cultivates students' curiosity about the world and enhances scientific thinking. Through the inquiry process, students will recognise the nature of science and develop scientific knowledge and science process skills to help them evaluate the impacts of scientific and technological development. This will prepare students to participate in public discourse in science-related issues and enable them to become life-long learners in science and technology.

 

Direction

The emphasis of science education is to enhance students' scientific literacy through investigative activities that involve planning, measuring, observing, analysing data, designing and evaluating procedures, and examining evidence. Learning science will enable our students to lead a fulfilling and responsible life by encouraging them to learn independently, deal with new situations, reason critically, think creatively, make informed decisions and solve problems.

 

Through science activities, students should develop an interest in science and thus they will be motivated to become active learners in science. Students should also develop an understanding of the interrelationship between science, technology, society and environment (STSE), and strengthen the ability to integrate and apply knowledge and skills across disciplines. They should be able to meet the changes and challenges in the ever developing society and contribute towards the scientific and technological world.

 

Students with high ability or a strong interest in science need more challenging learning programmes. These programmes should stretch the students' science capabilities and offer opportunities for students to develop their potential to the full.

 

  •  
Curriculum Documents
  •  
What's New
  •  
Teacher Education Programmes
  •  
References & Resources
  •  
Links
  •  
Questions & Answers
  •  
STEM Education
  •  
Contact Us

 

top back

科學教育

學習領域定位

科學是通過有系統的觀察和實驗,去研究我們周圍的現象和事件。科學教育培養學生對世界的好奇心,加強他們的科學思維。透過探究的過程,學生可明白科學的本質,並獲得所需的科學知識和科學過程技能,幫助他們評估科學和科技發展的影響。此外,這些經驗可裝備學生,使他們能參與一些涉及科學的公眾討論,並成為科學和科技終身學習者。

 

發展方向

科學教育強調通過探究活動,加強學生的科學素養。這些學習活動所涉及的技能很多,包括計畫、測量、觀察、分析數據、設計和評估實驗步驟、驗證等。學習科學的重要之處,在於使學生在生活層面中,實現抱負,承擔責任。這是因為他們能獨立地學習、處理新的情況、作明辨性思考及具創新思維,並可作出明智的判斷和解決問題。

 

透過科學活動,學生可培養對科學的興趣,從而積極及主動地學習科學。學生亦應明白科學、科技、社會和環境(STSE)之間的相互關係,同時可加強綜合和運用不同學科知識和技能的能力,讓他們可在不斷發展的社會中應對轉變與挑戰,並在現今科學和科技的世界作出貢獻。

 

能力較高或對科學有濃厚興趣的學生,需要更具挑戰性的學習課程。這些課程應為學生的科學能力提供發展的空間,充分發揮他們的潛力。

 

  •  
課程文件
  •  
最新消息
  •  
教師培訓
  •  
教學資源
  •  
相關網址
  •  
問與答
  •  
STEM 教育
  •  
聯絡我們

 

頁首 返回